Like Mother, Like Daughter

One of the fun things I like about packing and unpacking for a move is that it gives you a chance to go through all your stuff. It can be overwhelming and I often wonder how we accumulate so much, but when it comes to packing/unpacking photo albums I always like to take the time to look through them. In the months before our Europe trip, i ventured into the storage room at my dad’s house and pulled out the stuff from my mom’s Europe trip she took back in 1982 or 83. My mom’s trip has always been the inspiration for me to travel. I loved hearing about her trip, although she never went into too much detail. But she did keep a scrapbook of momentos and several photo albums! I decided I’d like to have those photo albums so after finding them at my dad’s house I brought them home with me but didnt look at them again for a while. But when I was unpacking here I took the time to look through them and they were even more special and fun to look at since Calder and I had just gotten back from our OWN trip. It made me wish so bad that she was here to trade stories and memories with! I thought it would be fun to share some of the pictures and show you my mom when she was MY age! (thats weird to think about!)

ImagePretty sure this is in Ireland

Image

great hair, mom 🙂 I like her friend’s Ireland sweatshirt though!

Image

I like the candid-ness of this photo 🙂

ImageThis was in Greece I think

ImageHere she is at Octoberfest in Germany!

ImageNot sure where this is maybe germany or switzerland?

ImageThey are skiing in the Alps here!

Image

ImageVenice I think!

ImageLove this old school motorcycle!

 

We didn’t go to too many of the same destinations as my mom did, but I definitely think I got my travel bug from her! Hope you enjoyed these vintage pictures as much as I do 🙂

3 thoughts on “Like Mother, Like Daughter

  1. Way cool, Jenna. I went in 1979…Amsterdam, Paris, all over East Central and South central France, Cologne, Munich, Salzburg, Vienna, Bern, Luxembourg, Brussels, Antwerp. I spent most of my time (4 months) in Santenay les Bains, Cote d’or, France. I lived with the Chappelle-Nie Family at 1 Rue de Chassagne and harvested Burgundian grapes for the vendange.

    I was just telling Pat today that I LOVED the Grandmother I lived with. In 1979, she was 87, I think. Pat and I were discussing the appeal and detriment of wine and I recalled that our water there was ALWAYS ‘cut’ with red wine. I guess they had to water it down to prevent drunkenness.

    Anyway, I once asked ‘Maman’ for a glass of water… Une verre plein eau. Seulement l’eau! She remarked “L’eau c’est pour les grenouilles (plain water is for frogs!) Besides our children and our marriage, it was, without doubt, the richest experience of my life. If I can ever figure my slides out, I’ll share them. Looking at your Mom’s, I guess mine are just faded too…

  2. Pingback: Got a package in the mail! | The Happenings of the Sagens

Leave a Reply

