Lent Season

So this is the view from our window yesterday, accompanied by mid-50’s degree weather (I didn’t even wear a coat out!):

Image

And this is what I woke up to this morning (what the picture doesn’t capture is the active semi-blizzard conditions):

Image

WIth no warning that we were going to get 6+” of snow last night!

Image

And I thought Kansas weather was weird. 

Anyway, with yesterday being ash wednesday, the season of Lent is upon us. I don’t usually participate in Lent in the form of giving up chocolate or facebook or whatever, just because I don’t want it to become just a ritual rather than a true act of sacrifice in order to strengthen my relationship with God. But after experiencing a somewhat of a roller coaster ride spiritually the past several months, I see it as the perfect opportunity to challenge myself, so to speak, in responding to what I feel God is trying to teach me. I have realized that I have let my fears, mostly of the unknown, take me and my faith captive and immobilize my growth. This is a conclusion that took several weeks, maybe months to come to: that while I believe in God and I like to think I trust in him, I really do struggle with actually BELIEVING that He will do what he says he will do and TRUSTING in His promises. Sometimes it is almost a subconscious action that I choose to cling to fear instead of trust. So during this Lent season, I told God that everyday I am going to actively choose to trust him and battle any fears, whatever form they may come in, with scriptural truths. Because, really, any worries or stresses I experience usually stems from a fear of something I may have never verbalized and/or a lie I am believing. So as this Lent season is happening, I will be posting a scripture or two that directly addresses this issue as part of each post. Hopefully you will be encouraged by them! 

“For God has not given us a spirit of fearfulness, but one of power, love, and sound judgment.” 2 Timothy 1:7

“Some trust in chariots and some in horses, but we trust in the name of the LORD our God.” Psalm 20:7

 

PS- we are finally unpacked so pictures of our place to come on the next post!

2 thoughts on “Lent Season

  1. Pingback: Welcome to our Home! | The Happenings of the Sagens

Leave a Reply

