Awesome (literally) weekend

This weekend was so much fun! Our friend Jared was here and we got to go out to the mountains for the first time since we’ve been here. There’s something about being in nature that is awe-inspiring. It always makes me feel so small and points me to God 🙂 here are some of my favorite awe-some pictures from the weekend!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

The size of those boulders is just crazy to me. I felt like I was in the land of the giants or something. What a blessing to be able to play in such gorgeous landscapes! I hope whoever is reading this gets a chance to get out and enjoy the nature nearest them 🙂

“Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.” Psalm 46:10

2 thoughts on “Awesome (literally) weekend

  1. Completely awesome! There is nothing like the majesty of the Rockies! I grew up 100 yds from a creek (Libby) like this (nearer it’s mouth…where it flows into the Kootenai River. Scenes exactly like these were upstream a few miles. Every spring…(June, back in the day) we’d get huge semi-truck-tire inner tubes and float about 10 miles from upstream to where we lived. Much enjoyed and very fondly remembered annual ritual. It was usually a cousin and me. Once in a while my sister Julie and a few other country kids would join.

    The same creek was our “swimmin’ hole.” Every winter, we prayed that the beavers would build a dam near our house so we would have that deep water into which we’d be able to (safely) dive. On the occasion we were not so lucky, all of the kids who used that same swimmin’ hole (there was competition, don’t you know), would band together and collect small boulders and build our own “dam.” It actually slowed the water enough to create a poolbetween 10 and 12. ft deep immediately below an abandoned logging bridge from which we’d jump or dive another 12 ft. or so. Literally hundreds of hours spent there through high school. Priceless memories. In the dead of summer, the water was 38 F.

    We all need to go visit my Mother one summer. She lives in this splendor and avails herself of every opportunity it provides…wild mushroom gathering, wild berry picking (strawberries, raspberries, thimble berries, huckleberries, June berries, choke cherries, elderberries from which she and my BEST neighbor lady, Martha McLean tried making wine a couple of times) fishing for Rainbow and Eastern-Brook trout, hunting deer and elk.

    I have had my most serious and deepest conversations with God in those places.

Leave a Reply

