Homemade Laundry Detergent!

Hello! I hope you were able to get out and do something fun this weekend! We went hiking with some new friends on saturday and one of them caught this picture of Calder and I. I so love it!

Anyway, I found this link on Pinterest (like most of my ideas lately lol…i need to get some original creativity!) and I have been wanting to do it as soon as our current bottle of detergent ran out. So I finally did! The blog I followed claimed that you can get up to about 575 washes for about $6. That’s pretty crazy! I would say it’s more like $8 because I think she only counts the borax and the washing soda but you also need a bar of soap. Of course the upfront cost is a little bit more because the supplies you might need to buy such as a large pot, separate wooden spoon that you won’t need for cooking, and a funnel if you choose to transfer the mixture into other containers. But those will be only one-time costs. Here is a tutorial if you’d like to make the switch to homemade detergent!

First, gather your supplies:

I halved the original recipe so I’ll just say the measurements that I used. You’ll need 1/2 cup borax, 1/2 cup washing soda, 1/2 bar of soap, and one gallon of water. Supplies you’ll need are one large pot that you don’t need for cooking (able to hold at least a gallon), a long wooden spoon, a funnel, a grater, an empty container that can hold about a gallon of liquid.

First, grate half the bar of soap into the pot (Save the rest for your next batch). A lot of the comments on the other blog said that their detergent got too thick to even squeeze out of the bottle after it fully cooled, so the blogger suggested just using half the amount of soap. I did that and mine came out pretty watery (she says it still will get the clothes clean) so I would recommend using the whole half a bar. But it’s up to you!

Add 1/2 a gallon of water at this point and cook until the soap dissolves. Add the Borax and Washing Soda. Bring to a boil. The boil wont be a rolling boil most likely, so just cook it for about 5 minutes if you can’t really tell. The original post says that it should coagulate (thicken) but mine never did. Could be our altitude…who knows. However when other commenters had that issue she said not to worry about it and it will still work.

Turn off the heat and then add 1/2 a gallon of cold water. Stir. (If it seems really watery still before adding this water, you could add less.)

Then transfer into whatever containers you want to keep it in! I used our old detergent container and an empty milk carton (be sure to clearly label it as detergent if you use food containers).

And thats it! She suggests using about 1/2 cup per load, but I just pour it into the detergent compartment up to the line so I don’t have to use our measuring cup haha. So I don’t know how much exactly I use. Keep in mind this may not produce suds, but suds dont equal clean. It is safe to use in front loaders as well. You could also add a few drops of essential oils if you want it to have a certain scent or a stronger scent. This detergent has a very faint scent of the bar soap you use..otherwise it is odorless. Which is good if you are sensitive to heavy perfumes or have sensitive skin! I am already thinking of little adjustments I am going to make next batch to see if I can alter the thickness..but I have quite a bit to get through first! Let me know if you decide to make some of your own!!

**EDIT**

I just made another batch using Ivory brand bar soap and it seems much thicker so far. Also, if you use Ivory brand bar soap you can microwave it instead of grating it! Talk about a time & energy saver. The bar of soap with expand into a cloudlike shape in the microwave and when you take it our and let it cool slightly, it crumbles very easily. You can just use those crumbly bits instead of grating it! Microwave for around 3 minutes, but stop the microwave once the soap takes up almost all of the space.

“If we are faithless He will remain faithful, for her cannot disown Himself.” 2 Timothy 2:13 (I know I already published this one, but I just love it. God is always faithful and it impossible for Him to not be! How awesome!)

3 thoughts on “Homemade Laundry Detergent!

    • You should try it! It’s not too much to buy the stuff and if you think you mess up just try again! haha mine isn’t perfect either but I’m using it anyway. And you can always go back to store bought detergent if you don’t like it 🙂

Leave a Reply

