Sunday

Happy weekend everyone! We have had a great one spending time with friends and celebrating Cinco de Mayo with home made tacos and coronas! And a pretty intense game of monopoly 😉

It was also beautifully warm yesterday and I spent my first day of the season poolside! And I have the red skin to prove it 😦 BUT I’m hopeful that within a few days it will be a nice tan!

Anyway, today I finished a book I’ve been reading–it’s called From Blah to Awe by Jenna Lucado Bush and it’s about getting our faith out of the boring and into the exciting that it was meant to be. It’s geared towards younger girls, but I still got some good stuff out of it (I would definitely recommend it to any teen girls!)

This quote really stuck out to me:

“Why would want to show off His glory & why did He create us to promote Him more? This of it this way. You’re floundering neck-deep in a dark, cold sea. Ship sinking. Life jacket deflating. Strength waning. Through the inky night comes the voice of a life boat pilot. But you cannot see him. What do you want the lifeboat pilot to do? Be quiet? Say nothing? By no means! You need volume! You need to hear him say ‘I am here. I am strong. I have room for you. I can save you!’ Drowning passengers want to pilot to reveal his preeminence. Don’t we want God to do the same?”

It goes on to say that is why God glorifies himself through nature, through the changed lives of his children, and why he wants us to glorify Him in our own lives–out of love and care for those who are “drowning” so they can easily find Him!

The reason it stuck out to me so much is because like most people, I have questions and have questioned my faith and why God made certain things the way He did. If I’m completely honest, I have to say I have had the thought that “God seems kinda narcissistic to make everything for the sole purpose of bringing himself glory.” But the difference is that he brings himself glory out of LOVE for his creations. He knows that, since we are created by Him, a relationship with him is the only thing that can TRULY fulfill the longing in our souls. And glorifying himself shows that to the world!

Thank you, God, for glorifying yourself through your creation of nature and through me!

And for good measure, here God glorifies himself in the cuteness of my kitties!

Tune in tomorrow to see how our map project turned out!

Leave a Reply

