Future Project!

So I’m itching to do some more DIY home improvements and I think I know just the thing for my next project…whenever that may be! I’m going to transform this piece:

I got it about 2 years ago at our campus’s end of the year garage sale for only $5!! I then painted it blue, but now its time for a makeover. (And it needs to be de-cluttered…clearly it’s one of our only display areas.) And here is my inspiration!

I’m loving the trend of patterned paper or bright colors in the back of the shelves forย  a little pop of somethin! For my piece, I plan to replace the backing, paint everything white, and then back the shelves with some kind of patterned wallpaper. This back was actually stenciled by removing the backing and apply this stencil. I haven’t decided what yet. And I don’t know when I’ll be able to undertake this project, but it will be happening and I am excited about it! I will post pictures of the after when it is complete ๐Ÿ™‚ Check out these other hutch and bookshelf makeovers I found.

What do you think?! Do you like this idea? It adds so much interest! If your piece already has a nice wood finish, you could also leave that and only paint the inside. I hope you feel inspired!

One thought on “Future Project!

Leave a Reply

