Molasses Cookies Recipe!

So I bought a jar of molasses the other day to make some BBQ sauce. But of course the sauce only needed like 1/4 c and I still had a whole lot of molasses left! So I got to thinking, what else can you make with molasses? Then my sweet tooth reminded me of those fresh delivered cookies you get every day at my family’s annual vacation destination, Big Cedar Lodge on Tablerock Lake. It also reminded me that the molasses cookies were my favorite kind! Perfect solution!

This recipe turned out delicious. The cookies are soft and moist and I may or may not have eaten one for breakfast this morning. And I may or may not be regretting not bringing one to work with me today.

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup molasses
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ground cloves (I used allspice since I didn’t have ground cloves and it still tasted great!)
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/4 cup white sugar (for rolling dough in)

Directions

  1. In a medium bowl, mix together the butter, brown sugar, and egg until smooth. Stir in the molasses. Combine the flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, cloves (or allspice), and ginger; blend into the molasses mixture. Cover, and chill dough for 1 hour.
  2. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C). Roll dough into walnut sized balls, and roll them in the remaining white sugar. Place cookies 2 inches apart onto ungreased baking sheets.
  3. Bake for 8 to 10 minutes in the preheated oven, until tops are cracked. Cool on wire racks.
  4. Store in airtight container to prevent drying out.

Seriously so yummy! Enjoy!

One thought on “Molasses Cookies Recipe!

Leave a Reply

