Extreme Gratitude

Hey all! Hope you had a great long weekend. We had a great time. It was the hubs birthday Saturday and the celebration filtered through the weekend. We got to watch our alma mater’s first football game at a Kstate bar we discovered in Denver which was a blast! It felt like we were back in Aggieville again. Calder spent that day fishing, it’s his newest favorite hobby 🙂 Hence this card I made for him:

I made it from an actual photo of him fishing so the fisherman in the card is him! We also had a BBQ with some friends on Labor Day and I made Calder’s favorite cake to bring: his mom’s strawberry cake recipe, which I plan to make a post of in the near future.

We also were celebrating OFFICIALLY being approved for our mortgage meaning we OFFICIALLY are homeowners! Move date is in 2 weeks!!

AND we had more to celebrate…I was offered a full time designer position at the firm I’m interning at! It was very unexpected, but I am super excited!! So I will nanny for the rest of the month and then transition into the new job.

Clearly we have so much to be thankful for. I don’t want to take any of it for granted. The Lord has rained down His blessings upon us for reasons unbeknownst to us. But even when times are tough and it seems like nothing is going our way, I pray we will still live with a lifestyle of gratitude. I am reading Ann Voskamp’s book 1000 gifts and I have been totally convicted and challenged to embrace a lifestyle of gratitude for the every day things, looking for the Lord’s beauty and blessing in every moment. Even when I’m cleaning, or when I’m stuck in traffic (two things I’m really not a fan of at all…). Or, to go even further, even if something tragic happens, my husband loses his job, one of us gets sick, etc. It is definitely not first instinct. I tend to complain much more when I am no thinking about it. I must be intentionally noticing, praising, and thanking the Lord as I go about my day.

In the book, Ann is on a journey to find the source of true joy in life and she discovers it is to live with Eucharisteo. The Greek word for thanksgiving found throughout the Bible. It is used when Christ is having the last supper when it says “he broke the bread and gave thanks.” But not only does the word itself mean “to give thanks,” its root word is charis meaning grace. It also contains the root word chara, meaning joy. Grace, thanksgiving, and joy. All wrapped up in one word. One word to describe a lifestyle that leads to true joy: a lifestyle of radical gratitude. To apply this practically, Ann makes a list of 1000 things she is grateful for. She adds to it throughout each day, and once she reaches 1000 she decides to keep going. Things like: the rainbow of light on the bubble’s surface while washing dishes; the sound of her children’s laughter; the way the sun moves across the floor.

Truly a great and poetic book. But past the book, what a challenge, but blessed way to live. I want to live that way. I’m grateful for this book opening my eyes in new ways and for the Lord continually working in my heart. If you enjoy reading (or even if you don’t, but want to be challenged in your faith), I would definitely recommend it. She can write much better than I can. I hope the Lord has used this post to reflect on things you are grateful for, and to look for ways to be grateful in situations you would normally complain about. Even the hard ones.

One thought on “Extreme Gratitude

  1. Congratulations to you and Calder on buying your first home and for your new job at the design firm! God is so good, isn’t He? One Thousand Gifts is one of my favorite books, and yes, it is life-changing to live with a heart that is filled with gratitude in even the smallest things in our life (It is something I am learning to do on a day to day basis). Thanks for a wonderful post, I look forward to seeing what design fun you will be having in your new home!
    Blessings to you and the hubs!!

Leave a Reply

