The Hubby’s Favorite Strawberry Cake

Before the intended content of this post…I want to mention I have some new social media follow buttons on my side bar. The Happenings of the Sagens now officially has its own Facebook and Twitter account! Click the buttons to follow me on each of those sites, and I also revamped my Pinterest follow button so you can still follow me there as well. Easy ways to stay updated!

Now on to the normal post…

Ever since Calder was a kid, his mom has been making him Strawberry Cake for his birthday. It’s his favorite! Lucky for him, his mom passed the recipe on to me (I think’s it’s his grandma’s recipe actually) at one of my wedding showers a couple of years ago. I have to say I haven’t made it yet for him…until this year!

I clearly still need practice on my cake icing skills…but it tasted delicious! Thanks Donna for the recipe!

Ingredients for cake:

1 white cake mix

1 T flour

1 bow strawberry jello (small)

1 pkg frozen strawberries in syrup

3 eggs

1/3 c veggie oil

½ c hot water

Ingredients for Icing:

½ c butter

½ lb powdered sugar

2 T buttermilk

remaining strawberries

Instructions:

Mix jello and water. Stir until dissolved and set aside.beat eggs and oil. Add cake mix, flour, and jello and mix well. Add strawberries, saving ¼ c for the frosting. Bake in 2 layers in non stick round cake pans @ 350 for about 30 min. Remove from oven and let cool.

Mix frosting ingredients together using the strawberries, not the juice. Carefully remove cake from pans 1 layer at a time. Spread icing between layers and then all over cake.

Enjoy a family favorite!

2 thoughts on “The Hubby’s Favorite Strawberry Cake

Leave a Reply

