Our Newly Finished Accent Wall!

This past weekend I finally finished painting the accent wall in our living room. It sat almost done for quite some time, and now its complete!

Royal Design Studio was generous enough to offer me the chance to review one of their newest stencils, the Casbah Trellis. It was perfect for our accent wall. They have so many fun choices and I am already looking forward to my next stencil related project.

Though the process is tedious, and those corners were pretty tricky, the hubs and I think it is totally worth it. Judge for yourself!

Just for reference, here’s what the living room looked like when we moved in (minus the furniture):

And here it is now!

The pictures don’t do it justice. I went back and forth about what colors to use, but finally decided on the same grey as the main walls with gold accents. I used a Martha Stewart metallic gold paint from Home Depot. Since the gold is so reflective, it was hard to get a good picture and this is the best one, but hopefully you are able to get an idea of the impact it has!

In order to get from the before to after, it took me about 12 hours of this:

Even though it can be tedious, Royal Design Studio’s product makes it easy to make sure things are staying lined up and is very durable. I used their stencil brush which was also helpful to get even coverage. One thing I learned though, GOOD TAPE IS KEY! I did the first side of the wall with regular painter’s tape, and the other side with the edge lock Scotch Blue tape and it made a world of difference. You could also use spray adhesive, which they recommend but I didn’t have any and I had plenty of tape.

Here is one finished side in the natural light:

The glass block windows made it impossible to get a good picture of the whole wall in natural light unfortunately. But I think it looks great with the sunburst mirror!

Have you ever done a stencil project? Be sure to check out Royal Custom Design and all their choices!

12 thoughts on “Our Newly Finished Accent Wall!

  1. I’ve been wanting to do something similar in our hallway. Your stenciling job is one of the best I’ve ever seen! I’ve heard its REALLY difficult to get clean lines… good work! It looks awesome!

    • Thanks Bethany! It is not super clean in all areas 🙂 I went back and did some freehand touching up, especially where I accidentally started going crooked with it..oops! But their stencils really help keep the lines as clean as possible! And the less paint on your brush, the cleaner the line will be. If you do a stencil project let me know, I’d love to see how it turns out!

  2. Pingback: My First Giveaway!! + Stenciled Bookcase Project | The Happenings of the Sagens

  3. What color gray did you use on the walls? I’ve been trying every gray on earth and can’t seem to find one similar to this. Please write back… thank you 🙂

    • I’m pretty sure I went with Gentle Rain by Behr. It has purple undertones though so be sure to paint a sample in your house before you take the plunge! My friend used the same color and in her house with it’s light it looks purple-y. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

