My First Giveaway!! + Stenciled Bookcase Project

**UPDATE** Giveaway is now closed and the winner has been notified. Thanks for all your entries, I wish you all could have won!!

Guys! Guess what! Today is an exciting day because I’m hosting my first giveaway 🙂 Royal Design Studio, the company with the awesome stencils that I used for this wall…

…and the project I’m about to share is generously giving one of YOU $50 towards a stencil of your choice! Read on to see how you can win (or just scroll to the bottom if you want to skip all this 😉 ). But first check out another application of one of their stencils:

Here’s how I got to that point. I started with this old bookcase I bought for $5 at our college yard sale right after graduation. It was originally an ugly wood stain and I painted it this blue color right after I bought it.

As you can see, we removed the back first. It wasn’t in great shape so we bought a replacement piece of luaun plywood underlayment..typically used to go under hardwood floors. But it was the perfect thickness and was not rotting at the bottom, which was a step up from the old back 🙂

I painted the back all white while it was still detached, and then applied the stencil. I also painted the bookcase white–which ended up needing three coats!

The paint I used was Behr Ultra color matched to Martha Stewart’s Saffron. I just got a little sample jar for a couple of bucks and it was more than enough–even doing two coats!

The stencil I used was called Casablanca Trellis. I love how it turned out! All that was left to do was to attach the back and of course fill it with stuff!

Sidenote: the wall behind it has been painted grey, as well as all the way down the hall. And that brown wall will be painted asap!

Now the part you’ve been waiting for, the giveaway! To enter, all you have to do is visit Royal Design Studios website and let me know which one you like the most by coming back here and leaving the name of it in a comment!

You can have one additional entry for doing each of the following:

1. Liking Royal Design Studio’s Facebook page

2. Following Royal Design Studio on Twitter

3. Following Royal Design on Pinterest

and

4. Liking the Happenings of the Sagens Facebook page or following me on Twitter!

and leaving separate comments for each letting me know that you did!

That’s a lot of chances for you to win–so don’t waste any time! Oh and the winner will also receive free shipping in the US and Canada! Giveaway will be opened until next Friday the 16th at 1 p.m. Don’t miss out!

46 thoughts on “My First Giveaway!! + Stenciled Bookcase Project

  1. What a great giveaway!! There were so many to chose from!! I love Deco Damask…it is the perfect design for my oh so boring wall that everyone sees when they walk in my house 🙂

  2. Springtime in Paris for sure! We have only been in your new house for 3 weeks, and it is high-time something got stenciled in here! Plus it is my birthday! Merci 🙂

    I am following royal design studios on pinterest now!

  3. Favorite is the Royal Design stencil. I’ve liked your page and Royal Design Studio’s on FB, as well as, am following RDS and pinned this stencil. thanks!

Leave a Reply

